Committees

The members of the ULI Virginia are community builders, the people who develop and redevelop neighborhoods, business districts and communities across the U.S. and around the world. It is through member involvement in the various committees and program involvement that ULI has been able to set standards of excellence in organizational effectiveness.

Committees

Membership Committee | Richmond: Jane Milici jane.milici@uli.org | Hampton Roads:  Thresa Joyce: tjoyce@vccva.org | Charlottesville: Craig Kotarski: craig.kotarski@timmons.com

The Membership Committee focuses on Retention, Integration, and Recruitment of ULI Virginia members. Activities include ULI Orientation Breakfasts, new member recruitment receptions, recruitment of new members at ULI events, and the Ambassador program. Participation requires a passion for greeting, contacting, and recruiting existing and potential members.

Programs Committee | Richmond:   Elizabeth Hancock Greenfield: egreenfield@rarealtors.com | Hampton Roads: Chip Land: celand@kaufcan.com; Tom O’Grady: tomogrady@clancytheys.com | Charlottesville: Craig Kotarski: craig.kotarski@timmons.com

The Programs Committee develops and produces programs and events to educate members, non-members, and public agencies on issues pertinent to land use and real estate development.

Communications Committee | Richmond: Mike Gray: mgray@cpgroupllc.com | Hampton Roads: Dave Ermini:  davide@hbaonline.com

This committee creates awareness of ULI Virginia, enhances membership retention and brand-identity, and communicates member benefits. It elevates ULI’s external visibility in the press and seeks out technologies to improve email, website, blog, social media, and video communications.

Young Leaders Group (YLG) | Richmond: Tyler Womble: twomble@bowmanconsulting.com; Kyle Burns: kburns@shurmhomes.com | Hampton Roads: Ashley Bussey: abussey@slnusbaum.com; Geoff Poston: Geoff.poston@thalhimer.com| Charlottesville: Hannah Mahaffey: hannah@martinhorn.com

The Young Leaders group creates a unique setting for early-career professionals and students under the age of 35 by offering opportunities for the next generation of leaders to develop professional skills and build relationships that will help advance their careers while fostering an understanding of thoughtful development practices. One of the most popular Young Leader programs is the year-long Mentorship Forum, wherein senior ULI members support, coach and encourage the next generation of land use leaders by providing mentorship and insight into their career trajectory.

UrbanPlan | Hampton Roads: Andy Hansz, jhansz@odu.edu | Richmond: Robert Taylor: rwtaylor@vcu.edu

ULI members volunteer at Old Dominion University or Virginia Commonwealth University as facilitators and jurors for this classroom-based program utilizing the realities of land use and real estate development in senior economics classes. Classroom volunteers must attend a full-day training. Program runs fall, summer, and spring semesters.

Technical Assistance Panel (TAP) | Richmond and Charlottesville: Adena Patterson, apatterson@mcguirewoods.com | Hampton Roads: Scott Chewning: Scott.chewning@burnsmcd.com

The Technical Assistance Panel Committee facilitates bringing together experts to provide strategic advice to municipalities and nonprofits on land-use and real estate challenges and opportunities.

Annual Conference| Jeff Nelson, jnelson@daa.com

The ULI Virginia Annual Conference brings together leaders from every sector of the real estate industry: developers, investors, architects, planners, brokers, academics, attorneys, decision makers, and public officials.  Our conference is a mini version of the ULI National Fall Conference with keynotes speaker, break-out sessions, tours, and ample networking opportunities.

Sponsorship | Richmond: Jane duFrane: jane.dufrane@highwoods.com | Hampton Roads: Andrew McKinley: amckinley@viadesignarchitects.com

The Sponsorship Committee solicits financial support from area businesses and friends of ULI. Annual sponsorship provides over 50% of ULI Virginia’s annual budget and is vital to continuing our locally-focused mission.

Local Product Council | Statewide: Sal Musarra: sal.musarra @kimley-horn.com

The ULI Virginia Local Product Council provides an opportunity for members to share and discuss with their peers pertinent issues that real estate and land use professionals face each day. Sharing many of the same characteristics as a National ULI Product Council, the ULI Virginia Local Product Council is consistent with ULI’s tradition of sharing experiences gained, mistakes made, and lessons learned. Please know that to get the most out of your experience, confidentiality is crucial.

Mentorship Program | Elizabeth Carr: ecarr@williamsmullen.com; Ed Solarz: edsolarz@genesisproperties.com

The mission of the ULI Virginia Mentor Program is to foster an exchange of professional ideas and mentorship between experienced executives in the industry (“Mentors”) and young real estate professionals (“Mentees”) under the age of 35. Mentees will have the chance to learn from experienced industry players and bounce career-related ideas off someone they might not have otherwise met. To gain the most out of this program, it is crucial that Mentees approach the program as an opportunity to learn from a seasoned professional, not as an opportunity to land your next job. Mentors volunteer their time to make a connection with the younger generation and there is an expectation that the relationship will be respected accordingly. One of ULI’s primary functions is to promote the highest level of professionalism and as we head toward greater specialization in our industry this program will give Mentees the opportunity for a broader range of professional experience than offered in their current positions. This program also offers Mentors the opportunity to strengthen ties with future leaders of the local real estate community and the opportunity to gain a fresh perspective on real estate while gaining additional experience as an advisor, supporter, and coach.